Web Exclusive


U.S. Figure Skating announced today that all 12 U.S. Olympic figure skating champions will attend the 2010 U.S. Figure Skating Championships in Spokane, Wash.

The gold medalists will participate in an on-ice presentation during the Smucker’s Skating Spectacular on Sunday, Jan. 24 and will attend a “Destination Vancouver” fundraising dinner later that evening at the Davenport Hotel. Details on the dinner, including how to purchase tickets to it, will be announced later this week.

The Olympic champions scheduled to appear are Dick Button (1948, 52), Tenley Albright (1956), Hayes Jenkins (1956), Carol Heiss Jenkins (1960), David Jenkins (1960), Peggy Fleming (1968), Dorothy Hamill (1976), Scott Hamilton (1984), Brian Boitano (1988), Kristi Yamaguchi (1992), Tara Lipinski (1998) and Sarah Hughes (2002).

The 2010 U.S. Figure Skating Championships will take place Jan. 14-24 at the Spokane Arena and be televised live on NBC and webcast on icenetwork.com.

Over the course of 10 days, the event will crown 12 national champions in ladies, men’s, pairs and ice dancing on the senior, junior and novice levels. The championships are the final event before the selection of the figure skating team that will compete for the United States at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C.

U.S. Figure Skating’s “Destination Vancouver Send-off Dinner,” will take place at the conclusion of the 2010 AT&T U.S. Figure Skating Championships on Sunday, Jan. 24 at the Davenport Hotel in Spokane, Wash.

The black-tie optional fundraising dinner will feature all 12 U.S. Olympic gold medalists and the athletes nominated to represent U.S. Figure Skating at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, British Columbia.

A limited number of “Gold-medal Tables” and tickets for general seating are available.

The event will feature live and silent auctions, and 1988 Olympic champion Brian Boitano, star of the Food Network show “What Would Brian Boitano Make?” will prepare one of his signature desserts.

The pre-sale period will be open through Dec. 31, 2009. Tables will be sold based on availability, with an eight-guest maximum per table.

For more information on the event, or to purchase tickets, contact the U.S. Figure Skating development department at 719.635.5200, or e-mail smarsh@usfigureskating.org. Additional information is available at the association’s website.


U.S. Figure Skating and the Pioneer Fund announced have establishment the Helen M. McLoraine Figure Skating Scholarship Program to assist eligible current and former amateur and professional figure skaters who which to pursue a college education. Scholarships are offered each year for full-time undergraduate study at an accredited institution of the student’s choice.

The Pioneer Fund is a private family foundation, established in the 1960s by the late Helen M. McLoraine. Influenced by her mother’s dedication to philanthropy, McLoraine became a generous benefactor to others with a focus on figure skating, higher education assistance and medical research. McLoraine’s most cherished pastime was the sport of figure skating, and she attended many competitions, events and skating shows throughout the world each year.

The scholarship program is administered by Scholarship Management Services, a division of Scholarship America. As many as 10 scholarships will be awarded, ranging from $3,000-$7,000 per scholarship recipient. Scholarship applications must be postmarked by Feb. 18, 2010.

Information on the program and the scholarship application can be found at HERE.