Web Exclusive

ISU World Team Trophy Lineup Announced

With the conclusion of the 2009 ISU World Figure Skating Championships, the countries who have qualified for the first ISU World Team Trophy have been determined. Team USA will be the top-ranked squad there.

The six teams that qualified are: the United States, Canada, Japan, Russia, France and China. Each team will consist of two men, two ladies, one pair and one ice dance couple.

Teams qualified according to the results of the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating, the ISU Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating, the European Championships, Four Continents, the World Junior and World Figure Skating Championships.

The United States topped the team standings with 7,659 points followed by Canada with 6,755 points and Japan with 6,660 points. Russia accumulated 6,370 points and came in fourth while France is ranked fifth at 4,938 points. China qualified with 4,150 points.

The U.S. team will feature Evan Lysacek, Jeremy Abbott, Rachael Flatt, Caroline Zhang, Caydee Denney and Jeremy Barrett, and Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto.

Canada will be represented by Patrick Chan, Vaughn Chipeur, Joannie Rochette, Cynthia Phaneuf,
Jessica Dube and Bryce Davison and Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir.

The Japanese team will be comprised Takahiko Kozuka, Nobunari Oda, Miki Ando, Mao Asada, Narumi Takahashi and Mervin Tran, and Cathy Reed and Chris Reed.

The Russian team inlcudes Andrei Lutai, Sergei Voronov, Katarina Gerboldt, Alena Leonova, Yuko Kavaguti and Alexander Smironov, and Jana Khokhlova and Sergei Novitski.

France will be represented by Brian Joubert,Florent Amodio, Candice Didier, Gwendoline Didier, Vanessa James and Yannick Bonheur, and Nathalie Pechalat and Fabian Bourzat.

China's team is made up of Jialiang Wu, Chao Yang, Yan Liu, Binshu Xu, Dan Zhang and Hao Zhang, and
Xintong Huang and Xun Zheng.

The ISU World Team Trophy is being held for the first time in 2009. The competition will take place in Tokyo from April 16-19 in the Yoyogi National Stadium.