2017 Shanghai

2017 Shanghai Trophy takes place Nov. 24-26 at the Shanghai Oriental Sports Center.

The competition, which includes synchronized skating and short track speed skating, opens with the synchronized short programs on Friday. Synchronized teams only compete the short, while ladies, men, pairs and ice dance compete only the long program. It is the first time that an ISU event combines the three disciplines.

Five synchronized skating teams have been entered (16 skaters plus up to four alternates are permitted): Les Supremes (CAN), Marigold Ice Unity (FIN), Team Paradise (RUS), Team Surprise (SWE) and the Haydenettes (USA). 

Eight nations have entered athletes for the figure skating portion of this event. 

Three Russian ladies are scheduled to compete in Shanghai. It is anticipated that nation will sweep the podium. Ekaterina Bobrova and Dmitri Solovyev are a shoe-in to take the ice dance title.

Who will win the men’s event is the big question. Denis Ten of Kazakhstan is slated to compete as is Russia’s Alexander Samarin.

The host country will field a strong team: Hong Chen and Yan Zhao (ice dance), He Zhang (men), Cheng Peng and Yang Jin and Wenjing Sui and Cong Han (pairs).

The Shanghai Trophy is an annual international skating competition organized by the Chinese Skating Association and Chinese Figure Skating Association. Invited skaters compete in the disciplines of short track speed skating, synchronized skating, or figure skating. The first event was held in 2016.




2017 Shanghai