Select Page

2017 World Team Trophy

2017 World Team Trophy

The fifth edition of the ISU World Team Trophy will take place April 19 to 23 at Yoyogi National Stadium in Tokyo, Japan.

The teams ranked 1 to 6 in the ISU World Team Standings qualified for the event. Team Canada is the top qualifier for the ISU World Team Trophy 2017 with 8437 points followed by Russia (7972 points), USA (7257 points), Japan (7068 points), China (5065 points) and France (4307 points).

Team Canada

Three-time World Champion Patrick Chan leads team Canada and is joined by 2017 World bronze medalist Gabrielle Daleman, 2015 Ice Dance World bronze medalists Kaitlyn Weaver/Andrew Poje, Kevin Reynolds, Alaine Chartrand and Pair Skaters Kirsten Moore-Towers/Michael Marinaro. Weaver is the team captain.

Team Russia

Two-time and reigning World Champion Evgenia Medvedeva headlines team Russia. The team under captain Ekaterina Bobrova features 2017 Winter Universiade Champion Elena Radionova, 2017 World bronze Pairs medalists Evgenia Tarasova/Vladimir Morozov, European medalists Mikhail Kolyada and Maxim Kovtun as well as Bobrova and her ice dance partner Dmitri Soloviev, who are multiple European ice dance medalists.

Team USA

Team USA counts on 2017 Four Continents Champion Nathan Chen, 2016 Ice Dance World bronze medalists Madison Chock/Evan Bates, Jason Brown, 2016 World silver medalist Ashley Wagner, U.S. Champion Karen Chen and pair skaters Ashley Cain/Timothy LeDuc. Wagner is the team captain.

Team Japan

2017 World and reigning Olympic Champion Yuzuru Hanyu leads Team Japan. He is joined by 2017 World silver medalist Shoma Uno, 2017 Four Continents Champion Mai Mihara, two-time World Junior bronze medalist Wakaba Higuchi, Ice Dancers Kana Muramoto/Chris Reed and Pair Skaters Sumire Suto/Francis Boudreau Audet. Muramoto has taken the role as team captain.

Team China

Team China comes with 2017 World bronze medalist Boyang Jin, ISU Grand Prix finalists Cheng Peng/Yang Jin, Zijun Li, Xiangning Li, Tangxu Li and Ice Dancers Shiyue Wang/Xinyu Liu. Pair skater Yang Jin is the team captain.

Team France

2017 European bronze Pairs medalists Vanessa James/Morgan Cipres, Chafik Besseghier, Kevin Aymoz, Mae-Berenice Meite, Laurine Lecavelier and Ice Dancers Marie-Jade Lauriault/ Romain Le Gac will compete for Team France. The team captain is Cipres.

Team USA has won the Team Trophy three times in 2015, 2013 and 2009 while Team Japan struck gold in 2012.

2017 World Team Trophy




NBC SPORTS NETWORK will recap each day’s events in a daily report:

Apr. 20 – 12:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Apr. 21 – 12:00 – 2:30 p.m.
Apr. 22 – 2:30 – 4:30 p.m.

If you live in the U.S., you can watch the recaps HERE.





About The Author