2019 Nebelhorn Trophy takes place in Oberstdorf, Germany, Sept. 25-28. There are currently 22 men, 23 ladies, 11 pairs and 15 ice dance teams registered for this competition. All four disciplines will be contested and, as is tradition, the annual ISU judges exams will take place in Oberstdorf. The Challenger Series will take a two-week break following this competition and resume with Finlandia Trophy Oct. 11-13. 

Jason Brown of the U.S. has withdrawn from this competition. The 24-year-old is recovering from a concussion he suffered in a car accident en route to Champs Camp in August. Currently on the roster are Canada′s Nam Nguyen, Alexei Bychenko and Daniel Samohin of Israel and Koshiro Shimada of Japan, who will make his senior debut at this competiton. Shimada is coached by two-time World champion Stéphane Lambiel.   

Many will be happy to see China′s Han Yan making his competitive comeback in Oberstdorf. The 19-year-old retired after the 2018 Olympic Winter Games but has re-discovered his love for figure skating and returned to training with a new perspective. He claimed his fourth national title in mid-September.

There are no Russian ladies slated for this competition. Mariah Bell of the U.S. leads the field with Korea′s Yelim Kim (third at 2019 Autumn Classic International) and Dabin Choi and Japan′s Marin Honda among the top contenders for a podium finish.

Canada’s Kirsten Moore-Towers and Michael Marinaro headline the pairs discipline. Russia′s Alisa Efimova and Alexander Korovin along with two U.S. teams, Haven Denney and Brandon Frazier and Alexa Scimeca Knierim and Chris Knierim,  Australia′s Ekaterina Alexandrovskaya and Harley Windsor and North Korea′s Tae Ok Ryom and Ju Sik Kim, will open their respective seasons at this competition.

The ice dance event will be one to watch with five teams from five different nations, who are all coached by Marie-France Dubrueil, Patrice Lauzon and Romain Haguenauer, competing. One of those teams will mine gold, but which one it will be is anyone′s guess. Frontrunners include Canada′s Laurence Fournier Beaudry and Nikolaj Sørensen who claimed silver at 2019 Lombardia Trophy in mid-September and Lilah Fear and Lewis Gibson of Great Britain who finished second at 2019 Autumn Classic International.