2020 Four Continents

Seoul, South Korea, will host the 2020 Four Continents Championships at the WAIKIKI Mokdong Ice Rink, Tues., Feb. 4 through Sun., Feb 9. This competition is open to skaters from the Americas, Asia, Africa, and Oceania.

With Yuzuru Hanyu scheduled to compete, finding a seat might be a challenge, given the nation’s proximity to Japan. He will be joined by Kazuki Tomono, Yuma Kagiyama, Rika Kihira, Wakaba Higuchi and Kaori Sakamoto.

In a Jan. 6 press release issued by the Japan Skating Federation, it was announced that Shoma Uno had declined the offer to compete in Seoul. It also confirmed that he has relocated to Switzerland to train with Stéphane Lambiel on a permanent basis. Uno said his reason for declining the invitation is that he wants to focus on preparing for the World Championships in Montréal this March.

Kihira, the 2019 ladies champion, should have no problem repeating the result she achieved in Anaheim, California, and capture her second consecutive crown.

South Korea will field a full complement of skaters in the singles disciplines and one ice dance duo. Jun-Hwan Cha, Young You and Eunsoo Lim are the headliners of this team. Australia, the host of the 2021 Four Continents Championships, has three men, one lady, one pairs and three ice dance teams currently listed on the competition roster.

Australia, China, Japan and the U.S. are the only nations with judges on the panels for all four disciplines. 

The competition will be live-streamed worldwide on the ISU Skating Channel (link below), except in countries with TV/online rights holders.



Alternative Stream: QQLive



2020 Four Continents